Blown Speaker

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by metallicarules, May 13, 2003.

1. Hi guys, I was wondering if anyone could give me any tips here. Afters many months of searching I finally found an amp that I liked and could afford. I'm a college student so I'm already broke, but I thought I could stand to go a little further into debt to buy this thing. It worked perfect for about a month and now today when I was practicing by myself it seems the speaker blew. While I was playing it starting crackling then cut out completely. I kept trying and it would come back on for a few seconds then cut out again. Does this sound like a speaker problem, amp problem, or perhaps (hopefully) a loose connection??? Is their anything I can do?

I am using a yorkville 400b powering a 1x15 black widow speaker. I was playing at medium low volume at the time into a speaker that is supposed to handle 700watts and be indestructible. Just my luck. If I have to spend another couple hundred dollars I am officially giving up bass forever, screw this.

Any answers/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

edit: oh yeah, and the limiter was definitely ON when it happened....
  2. Does it smell really bad or produce smoke when it fizzled out? If it did, check the transformer.
  3. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    When speakers "blow", they hardly ever go away then come back. I'd look for something else.

Speakers "blow" in essentially two manners. The first is a nasty buzzing type of sound, when the voice coils are damaged/misaligned, etc. The second is when the voice coil is totally breached, then the sound cuts out completely. Once this happens, it NEVER cuts in and out - its gone.
  4. Ok, it didn't produce smoke or anything, and it looks the same as always. If it were the amp what sort of sign should I look for? The amp still turns on fine, all the LED's work etc...