Blue burst around tubes, subsequent loss of power?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bad Gas, Oct 23, 2004.

1. Bad Gas

Bad Gas Guest

Sep 28, 2004
    I just got a Sunn 300T and was very excited to try it out last night. I have a 4 ohm capable Ampeg cab. I got all my settings the way I like them, plugged into my bass and just started playing on it trying to dial in a particular sound when I suddenly see a blue burst form around the tubes. I continue playing because I didn't notice the sound change until the amp started crapping out on me. Thats when the two red warning lights indicating a fuse problem (I believe?) came on directly behind the tubes. A moment later I realized what had most likely caused the problem. I didn't set the ohm switch to the right ohms before I started playing. It was set to 2 ohms. I have a 4 ohm Ampeg 8 by 10 cabinet. Shortly after the two red warning lights came on the amp just completely shorted out and isn't even getting power at all. Anyone know what I may have done?
  2. Bad Gas

Bad Gas Guest

Sep 28, 2004

I removed four fuses and three of the four of them are completely fried... I hope that is the only problem.
  3. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

Did it look like arcing outside of the tubes, near the bases? That would be a possible outcome from running high power into too high a load. If you have an ongoing problem, you may need to look into replacing the power tube sockets. Make sure you stay with the standard fuse values too, that could be a transformer saver.
  4. Hoping the problem is the fuses? Well if they all fry out like that then the problem aint the fuses. Either you got a short of some type, maybe a ground short or something is fried, like a cap. Probably something is fried because it continued to play.
  5. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA