Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bluegrass Beginner Needs Advice

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by iPlay15151515, Feb 7, 2005.

1. My ambition is primarily playing bluegrass/old time double bass.

I've been practicing on an electric bass (guitar) for about 3 months.

I would appreciate some advice on the following:

1. Recommendations on purchasing a student level double bass (used, ebay, websites, etc).

2. Web sites/forums where the primary focus is bass for bluegrass or just bluegrass.

3. Instructional material on walking base lines for beginners.

4. Instructional material on music theory for bass players.

5. Any additional advice you may have for a beginner in the bluegrass genre.

Thanks

2. Perfect-Tommy

Perfect-Tommy

Mar 28, 2004
    Ohio
    Well, I actually got into bluegrass the middle of last year. It's a hoot. I can tell you a few things though...

Firstly, though it's not common practice, more and more bass players are using electrics in bluegrass. So don't get too hung up on having an upright.

As for the focus, it's very simple but hard to apply. Typically, you play half notes going from I(1) to V(5) that's the umpah - umpah that you hear in from the Tuba in polka.

To use terms that are easy to understand you(the bass) and the mandolin tend to emulate what a drummer would do. You hit the down beats simulating the kick drum of a drum kit and the mandolin hits the up beats acting as the accent note of the snare or high hat.

To function as a bass player in bluegrass that's all you need to know. Knowing more, like the walking basslines, is a plus though. I'm self taught, so I cna't really help you much on where to get such materials... I would maybe recomend checking out this website though http://www.fqms.com . My bandmates pretty much swear by it and they have a heavy focus on bluegrass and country.