Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bluegrass hints

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Wes Whitmore, Mar 8, 2006.

1. Wes Whitmore

Wes Whitmore Supporting Member

Mar 10, 2003
    Columbus, OH
    I have the opertunity to bring in the bottom octave for a bluegrass band. I play electric bass, but have never played this kind of music before, but I like it. I'm looking for tips from people who have played the genre. Anything special I should know besides staying out of the way of the rotating solos? These seem like some very down to earth people, so I am hoping all goes well. I have been listening to bluegrass for the past 6 months, and have checked out some local bands. It seems like you really need to know the songs and keep your eyes on each other for changes.
    Thanks,
    Wes

2. WillBuckingham

WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005
    Don't stress man. At most there'll be 3 chords, and probably only two in each song, and everything'll probably be some combination of I, IV, and V. Just relax and you'll kick butt.

3. Wes Whitmore

Mar 10, 2003
    Columbus, OH
    Thanks for the breakdown. I guess the reason I am stressing is that is sounds very easy to play (slow, nothing over technical), but you never know what the "filler" stuff is. Sometimes it's a simple octave, somtimes a fifth. It all fits, but do they want it replicated as the original song was? It should be fun though, and actually nice to play with such veteran musicians and learn some of what they know.
    Thanks,
    Wes

4. WillBuckingham

WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005
    I wouldn't worry about playing it like the record at all. That's coming from a jazz player, but I think that's the approach bluegrass musicians take. Just keep it simple and solid and I'm sure they'll love you.