1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

BLuegrass Pizz Technique

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Comrade Lewis, Mar 20, 2006.

1. Comrade Lewis

Comrade Lewis Guest

Jun 20, 2004
    Athens, Ga
    Help me!!!
    I am currently playing in a celtic band which also plays some bluegrass pieces. My problem is that after only an hour or so of rehearsal i start acquiring sore spots and blisters on my first 2 fingers. If i have performances with them, or very long rehearsals i have been wrapping bandaids around my fingers which have not only limited my playing, but also leave messes of wrapping everywhere. I play using permanents because i am really a classical solo/orchestral bassist. Am i plucking too hard? How do i pluck correctly? Do i need knew strings, if so are there any good strings for both plucking and bowing? This has been happening for a while, and let me tell you, popping a blister by accident on a string is not only gross, but disgusting as well. Please help me.
    Lew

2. Sounds like you just need more time to build up callouses on the pizz fingers. I am making the assumption that if you are primarily an orchestral player, most of your shed time is spent exploring the joys of arco. If that is the case, try spending some time each day on pizz. I believe you will see a difference in a couple of weeks.

With regards to your technique, who knows without seeing you play? Personally, I like the technique Ray Brown and others used--keeping the finger pointed more or less downward and getting as much meat as possible on the string. I can't speak for others, but this gives me the fullest possible sound with less effort.

Also, if you use arm weight rather than finger motion to pull the string, I think you would find it easier on the skin.

3. Comrade Lewis

Comrade Lewis Guest

Jun 20, 2004
    Athens, Ga
    Thanks Steve,