Blues and Jazz

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by taoist, Dec 26, 2002.

1. taoist

Dec 23, 2002
    mcallen tx
    Hi :)
    I am going to be living in Nashville Tennessee ( that how you spell tennessee...?)

uh, anyways...I am really digging getting to hang around blues and jazz clubs. I want to be able to play well enough to maybe play some gigs. (but just my 1st week with my bass and 1st week learning theory)..

So can anyone help me out, show me some good blues/jazz songs to learn, and the theories behind them. It almost seems as if there are basic jazz/blues tunes that every bassist should know..

OH, and can someone give me some DAMN good bass solo's to learn? preferably long and nice-sounding without other instruments..? I am new to the bass, but played guitar for a long time (fingerpicking mostly), so I can pretty much handle the most complicated tabs anyone can throw at me.
    (god, thought I'd never say that)

hey thanks alot for any help! I'm really digging these forums, I LOVE YOU ALL.
  2. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Ed offers good advice. And since you asked about theory, and theory is what you need in this case, off to General Instruction this goes.
  3. FunkySpoo

FunkySpoo Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2002
    Man I wish I could find a teacher like you down here in the D.C. area. You wouldn't be thinking about moving down here would you? Everytime I read your posts I'm like man you nailed it. Anyway at least I have access to you here.
  4. Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Sorry man, but what you're asking is not something achieved overnight or something like that.