Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Blues scales

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ablinow, Jul 6, 2002.

1. ablinow

ablinow

Apr 15, 2000
    Norton, MA
    Recently I have been wondering about blues scales(like the one in 'sunshine of your love'. If you don't know what I mean,
    g---------------------------------------
    d------------5-7------------------------
    a-----5-6-7-----------------------------
    e-5-8-----------------------------------

I was just wondering if a song was in one of these scales say on E, would this be the same as a relative minor scale making the key of the song G.

I know this is confusing I'm not really an expert but hopefully you know what I'm trying to say.

2. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Maybe I misunderstand your question, but at first blush it looks as if you may be unclear about the function of a scale and a key. I wonder if you cannot rephrase your question, so one of us here can explain better how blues scales are used in music and how to determine the key of a song when no key has been indicated or when you are transcribing a song you are hearing without benefit of a chord chart or a transcription.

3. tummage

tummage

Apr 23, 2002
    New Orleans, La
    I'm not sure what you're asking, but I'll try to explain.

The Key of a song is determined by what chords are used in that song and the resultant scale which these chords adhere to. IE: D Em Am C D--V VI IV V
    this song would be in the key of G-even though no G chords were played in the song.
    The reason is the progression follows a G major scale.

Not nearly as complicated as I'm making it sound, someone help.

Of course there are always exceptions to the rule but I am talking generalities.

The progression G Em C D G Em Am D I VI IV V I VI II V-- IS also in the key of G.