Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Blues Solos That Kick Asses.

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Steph Dawe, Mar 5, 2006.

1. My first major assignment for Jazz Improv 101 asks me to pick a blues solo and learn it. Easy, right?

It would be, if I knew any other bass blues solos other than The Lemon Song.

Care to help a sistah out?

Preferrably it has to be about 3 or 5 choruses long, and not overly hard - I'm to learn it by ear. And I'm in first year, so it needs to be fairly easy.

I apologise for making another "i need a bass solo plz help" thread, but I did do a search, and nothing specific came up, so don't shoot me just yet.

2. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    Wait... the solo has to kick multiple asses?!? Most blues solos I know only kick one... sorry.

3. Just the two moderators; it's not like I have to slaughter masses with it.

I thought the same thing, though. "5 choruses?" *faints*

4. flatwoundfender

flatwoundfender

Feb 24, 2005
    Check out some Mingus, he used a lot of blues based styles. Most blues blues isn't going to have bass solos, so I guess you could learn some guitar lines. I once heard some Ray Brown stuff with him soloing over blues chords.

5. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Would this fit the bill?

BCOL

I WILL learn to play every song on this album one day!

:D

Joe.

6. Lowtonejoe

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Hmmm....

I guess it might not be long enough.

Oops.

Play it more than once?

Joe.

7. Lowtonejoe

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Same here?

Such a cool groove!

YCMTTB

Joe.

8. Lowtonejoe

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    I guess this one is more an intro but dang, so cool.

I have to start thinking before I post.

Joe.