Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Body and Neck Wood

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by zaco bassa, Sep 22, 2005.

1. zaco bassa

zaco bassa

Sep 22, 2005
    Hey all,

i've been playing bass for a few years, and i'm very interested in finding out how the wood affects the sound of your bass?

does it affect the sound to a large extent? or does most of the difference in sound results from the pickups used ?

Thanks!!

2. Moo

Moo Banned

Dec 14, 2002
    Oakland, CA
    Here's how I look at it. You can play people a recording of a bass and many will be able to tell you what kind of pickups it has, is it a jazz, a p, a Smith, a Stingray? No one can tell you what kind of wood it is.

Draw your own conclusions. ;)

3. Shiveringbass

Shiveringbass

Aug 21, 2005
    France
    IMHO, woods play a great part in an instrument sound for instance ash body with maple neck are usualy aknoledged as being great slap bass's for the percussive tone of its woods.

Peace

4. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    UK
    the only way the wood affects the sound of my bass is when I try and play my extremely heavy Fender Jazz V for more than an hour... and it ends up sounding so lousy because my shoulder is agony and I can't concentrate and would rather be elsewhere :)

surely someone must have done a 'blindfold' test on the wood thing... some people will claim they can hear the difference between an ash/basswood/alder Jazz bas etc... so surely there's a simple way of putting this to the test online?

how about I play one of my basses, stick up an mp3 and post a poll asking what wood it's made of? it'll be a 4 string Jazz so surely we'd be all familiar with the tone

5. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU