Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Boogie M-Pulse

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sundance, Aug 9, 2004.

1. Sundance

Sundance

Jul 24, 2004
    Is it really a good amp for $1300? I'm probably going to have to wait til next summer to get a job to afford it (college music major) but is it really THAT much better than other amps out there for less? I played it and the Walkabout at Guitar Center, compared them with the SWR's and Ampeg SVT's and liked the Mesas the best for the controllability of the EQ and overall balance and fullness. I'm not really experienced at hearing the differences in amps, sinced this is pretty much my first serious amp, so are there any other options that might be better? The other brands the retailers around my area carry are Edens (plan to try them out soon), Behringer, Fender, and Peavey are all I can think of that sell new ones (whatever else Guitar Center carries that I don't remember too). Also some pretty renowned used gear stores in the area (I'm in the Baltimore area, so DC counts) that carry varieties of used stuff. I'm planning on using the amp on 2 ampeg 15 inch cabs, seperate (or together if I decide to fork out the cash to combine them, since they were originally one unit but were taken apart by the previous owner) at 400/8ohm each. Thanks.

2. Transverz

Transverz believer of the Low End Theory

May 3, 2004
    Los Angeles, CA
    Wow, pretty large plunk-down for a first rig! You definitely do not have a typical college music major budget with the M-Pulse in your sights! But you do have good taste hehe...