Boogie on down!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Flipper43, Mar 9, 2010.

1. Flipper43

Flipper43

Sep 7, 2009
    ..Ok, i realize we're not in the 70's anymore x]

Now that's out of the way, i can get to the point.

I currently have a Mesa Boogie BB 750 that i love. It's loud as all hell, and i don't even dare hook it up to both of my 4 ohm Mesa 115 cabs.. a 2 ohm load on that thing just sounds scary. Lately, i have been looking at Mesa 400+'s, and have been putting good thought into buying one. The fact is, i'm no tube expert by any means. I know that the BB has tubes in the preamp, but if i recall right, preamp tubes don't really have to get changed unless they're broken or something, but i could very well be wrong. I'm starting to think that i would favor the sound of the 400+ a little more for the more tubey sound, and i can see that working well with my band even though we play heavy music and it's good to have a faster attack in that situation. My BB already gives my band a pretty heavy sound, but i'm dying to know what it'd sound, and for the most part feel like to be running through one of those bad boys.
    My question is, is it worth it? How long will i have in-between re-tubings, and which tubes do i have to buy/ how much will it cost to replace them? For that matter, how the hell do you even replace tubes??

Sorry for all the questions. I hope you guys can help me out--you've never failed before.. except that one time... no wait, that was guitar center

X]

2. Flipper43

Flipper43

Sep 7, 2009
    I've also been thinking about the things i've heard about the bass 400+'s regarding how they shine when they are pushed into overdrive. Would it be such a bad idea to get an 8 ohm 115 PH mesa cab and run it into that to get that overdriven tone at a lower volume..?

3. Flipper43

Flipper43

Sep 7, 2009
    ....Anyone?

4. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio