Book Recommendations Beyond Theory~

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by opium89, Jan 8, 2006.

1. opium89

Jan 27, 2004

I've been playing for about 20 years or so, have read numerous books, taken a lesson or two but I am in a major funk. Seems all the books I have read teach you theory and how to play bass in a vacuum. Well darnit, I already know scales and chords! I would really like to find a book (web site, tape, DVD, etc...) that can explain how to apply the theory and knowledge to playing bass as it was meant to be played, ie: WITH OTHER INSTRUMENTS!

Any advice?
  2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I think, your absolutely best bet, would be to discuss theory with other musicians that you play with. If you know the most, educate them, if you know about what they know, work with them, and if you know less than they know, learn from them.

a lot of people get caught up in this idea of learning a bunch of scales and chords in a vacuum then being like "okay, now, how do I apply this?"

That's not an inherently poor approach, but it can get inbetween actually creating music. I prefer to approach theory from a "okay, I am creating music, now, how would I quantify it? oh... like that, okay cool, that's my theory"

There are standards, and systems and formulas, and common chord progressions, commonly accepted cadences...etc...etc. But all that theory is the culmination of what hundreds of composers(thousands?) over the years have produced musically. When they were making their music, they didn't think of it in terms of 'how am I applying this theory?", it wouldn't be till later someone says "okay, so that dude did that really cool thing, just what was he doing exactly? oh it was such-and-such, cool, well, I like that idea, I wonder if I can take that and use it with such-and-such, hey, that sounds pretty interesting"...etc..etc.