1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Book Smarts?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Nick Ioannucci, Mar 28, 2006.

1. So i am pretty new to jazz, started the middle of last year coming of of about 4-5 years of all orchestral. Improv? Walking? I guess what im trying to say is the best way to learn chords and such to first learn all of your scales? It is a pity that i dont know mine, but i wanna get there. After a thing my school had tonight i felt so behind. Should i just work on memorizing scales, and then learn to read chords(well i kind of can, just not quickly) and then apply the knowledge? or is there a different way to go about it? help out a confused kid.
    -nick

2. bump

3. :confused: I'm kind of confused myself here. Are you saying that in 4 years of lessons, you never worked on scales and arpeggios, or are you trying to learn how to play a bass line over a chord chart?
    If you did Major, Minor, Augmented and diminished 7th arpeggios, you would know the notes in the chord, and you can make up a line using chord tones and passing tones. You need to listen to the bass line on tunes you do know to get an idea of how the line fits the chord. I would also suggest you look at the Aebersold series, there are transcribed bass lines from different Bass players like Ron Carter and others available for you to check out.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

Something like Rufus Reid's "Evolving Bassist" might be a help...? DVD or book(s)

5. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA