Booking a mini-tour. Help please.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Justin V, Oct 23, 2005.

1. Justin V

Justin V

Dec 27, 2000
    Alameda, CA
    I joined my current band about two months ago. Three piece originals rock band (see sig.). We've played a few shows around here with a few more booked and/or pending before the end of the year, but we really want to play some shows outside of this little college town area. The music scene here is really weak. Not much support from the college students and a stereotype that we're all jam bands (there are a lot of REALLY BAD ones around here).

We're thinking of doing a two week "mini-tour" during winter break in early January. Basically going up and down the west coast. This is my first time in a band that actually had it's [term for feces] together enough to even play more than two shows and it's my responsibility to get a couple shows lined up or at least get some communication going with bands. We're just looking for opening spots.

I figured I would come here for advice on what to do and/or maybe some leads on gigs. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Find a local agent; give him a demo tape and have the agent book you accordingly to your wishes.
  3. ebladeboi123

Jul 11, 2005
    Oberlin, Oh
    Make press kits, and get a demo. Go drive ( i know this costs money ), and hand out the press kits and demo's to every place you wish to play. Do it in person, it's much harder to turn down a band in person, than via the mail. Or you can use a booking agent, they will usually take anywhere from 10-25% cut of your earnings through a gig, so thats really your call. I'd just make a tour in your state 1st. Then book a tri-state tour. And build from there. Just my opinion.