Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Born-Again Bass Player!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by EclecticBassGuy, Jan 12, 2003.

1. hello everyone! this is my first time posting here, and i would like to get some advice from everyone...if i could :)

i have been playing my bass for about eight years now. never really getting too seriously into it. never been with a band, never recorded anything, never performed on or off stage. i had to scrape up enough money to get my gear...so....i didnt get the "best". i have a Korean made Ibanez 5 string, and a 25 watt fender combo. so my sound is, most times, meak at best.

anyway...before i would play maybe two times a week...maybe even less. but now, i play it every day, and i have been loving every second of it. my fingers ache, when i listen to a song i hear nothing but the bass line (if there even is one...lol), i am doing my darndest to look for stuff to sell on ebay so i can get me some better gear...(i have considered selling my wife and 5 year old...but figured they would come in handy as roadies later.)

my playing style is all over the place, i love the way Me'shell N'degeocello makes the bass sound so dang sexy...i love the energy that Flea puts into it...Jaco, do i need to really say anthing? Mr. Wooten fits into that category as well...Les Claypool, the wacky sounds he gets out of his bass amaze me...

but what i'm trying to get at is this: what do you guys do to stay focused? what advice would you give to someone who just picked up the bass from a long break from it? any specific listening? books to read? songs to play? gear? excersizes to play to help the rusty (cant say that i even developed any to get "rusty") chops get back into order?

any and all comments or advice is appreciated! thanks for your help!

Aaron :D

2. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    velcome!! :)