Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bose - Personalized Amplification System ???

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by baba, Nov 24, 2004.

1. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
  2. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Anything by Bose is junk. Avoid at all costs.

3. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    Looks interesting, but I remain very skeptical.

4. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    I've never used their stuff. Is it made poorly, is it smoke and mirrors, does it just sound like ass?

5. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    I will reserve final judgement until I hear some reliable reviews, but as an engineer, I have my doubts about these.

6. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

There was a thread on Talkbass about this a few months ago. I know two guys who own the systems, and I've heard one of them, which did have the bass module. The upright bass player and acoustic/electric guitar player both needed supplementary amplification at the show I saw, which negates any of the supposed advantages. The guys who own it love it for folky/bluegrass type stuff though. The system is not as compact and easy to set up as Bose makes it seem, IMO.

7. I heard a single Bose system being used in a coffee house (guitar plus a couple of vocals) and it sounded quite good.

I also did the sound for an outdoor gig back in the summer, and one of the bands wanted to use their own Bose sytem (3 of the units described in the link) - and to be honest, they sounded better when we added our FOH system - bear in mind this was outdoors.