Boss BF-3 flanger

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by KB, May 12, 2002.

1. KB

Jan 13, 2000
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Has anyone tried or owned a Boss BF-3 flanger (the newer one with the bass input?) If so how does it sound? I am just beginning to look into the flanger/phaser market (I used to have an original small stone phaser, but I wanted something a little more). Let me know your thoughts on the BF3

2. sounded pretty cool and did have some great features... tap tempo and panning was cool (but i dont have a stereo setup). i dont think im going to replace my bf-2 with it since its not a very big difference in sound (i think the bass input is bs). just not worth it to replace i think but would recommend new for a pretty damn good flanger.
  3. SlavaF

Jul 31, 2002
    Edmonton AB
    You know, I was wondering the same thing, luckily I searched first. My next pedal is either gonna be a Boss CEB-3 or the BF-3, so I was wondering what the BF-3 sounds like. I was dissapointed that my favorite store did not have one, but I did play it's older brother, the BF-2 and it sounded pretty good, I just didnt have enough time to find out what the hell the knobs were for. But I'd also like any opinions on the BF-3.
  4. chris h

chris h Guest

Jun 16, 2002
    Oxford, England
    I nicked my guitarists and it sound lovely. you can get all sorts of subtle sounds through to weird sounds. A good feature is the 'Momentary' function, where the effect is applied only whilst the pedal is kept pressed, allowing you to use it for little fills etc. Im interested in buying one but not until I try a PH-3 Phase shifter.
  5. pil101

Jul 8, 2000
    i was in my local sam ash when a guy from roland showed all of its features. it is really good sounding. very full flange. i like its tone much better than the bf-2. i am really aching for one.

6. Is there any sites that have examples of bass pedals, that would be the best thing cause there's loads of pedals out there i aint heard.:(