1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Boss ODB-3 or effect simulation in Zoom B3n

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Aurresku, Apr 9, 2018.

1. Aurresku

Aurresku

Mar 8, 2017
    Bilbao
    Hello, I am a happy owner of Zoom B3n multi-effects processor.

I have the choice of buying one Boss ODB-3 pedal. This week i'm going to try it, but i have little experience as bassist and i don't know if the boss is really better of what i can get with any drive simulation effect of my zoom.

Could anyone help me in my decission?

Thanks!!

2. I had a Boss ODB-3 once. From what I hear, the simulation on the Zoom should be very similar to the original.

Aurresku and ppiluk like this.
  3. I have the Zoom B3n and the built-in effects are excellent and for the most part, provide you with as good results as separate pedals. Personally, I think the drive pedals built into the Zoom are more than sufficient for just about anything I would need and I suspect it will be enough for you too.

However, I think it doesn't hurt to play around with other pedals. The BOSS OBD-3 is an analogue pedal so it will likely respond differently than the digital B3n but don't be surprised if you can't hear much of a difference between the OBD-3 and the B3n's builtin counterpart. My suggestion is if you have the cash and want to buy it, buy it.

Aurresku likes this.
  4. The ODB3 model on the Zoom B3 or MS60B does the trick well enough I do not consider replacing my dead oldie.

Aurresku and ppiluk like this.
  5. Aurresku

Aurresku

Mar 8, 2017
    Bilbao
    Thanks for your answers!! Very helpful.

6. In my opinion the BOSS ODB-3 is garbage.

The B3N actually has some stellar overdrive and distortion models that are far superior to the boss, and their model of it.

7. waveman

waveman

Sep 25, 2008