Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

boss overdrive through effect loop?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lyle, Dec 22, 2005.

1. lyle

lyle Guest

Jan 10, 2004
    Vernon, B.C. Canada
    Can I run my overdrive through my effect loop on my yorkville bass master. I've never used my effect loop before and really don't know how it works. Can some one explain all this for me please?

2. DEVILMAN

DEVILMAN

Nov 24, 2001
    New York,NY
    Not a good idea at all, you'll fry it. You should never run any boost through the fx loop, only time change fx(delay/chorus etc.)...

~S~

PS: If you want to use the power section only of the amp(if it has one), use the return port only(IIRC) with a pre-amp boosted signal, which will utilize only power for cabs & bypass the eq of the same amp...

3. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    I don't know if devilman is right. if the voltage output of the pedal is more than the fx loop or input on the amp can take, you run a risk of hurting something.

As long as the output voltage of your pedal is less than 1.5 volts, I think, it should be fine. BUT if you are running in the 'overdrive' mode it will be hard to tell when legitimate 'overdrive' distortion ends and overload (when the voltage goes over the voltage of the fx loop) starts. if the overdrive has a volume output control start at minimum, in the fx loop, slowly turn up the pedal output with the overdrive "on", have the amp volume at a low to moderate level, slowly keep turning up the pedal output until the 'overdrive' effect changes, instead of just getting louder, THEN turn the pedal down about a 1/8 turn. it should be safe to run it around there.

Double check the technical specs on the amp and pedal. specifically the voltage on the loop, input, and pedal outputs.

I'll try and look this up too...what brand of pedal are you using??? model number?