Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bossa Nova Help

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by bassmonkey144, Nov 2, 2005.

1. I was asked by my director to write a bossa nova line to a very small chord chart today. Here's what I did. I wanted to know if it was any good. My few thoughts are that maybe I have a few too many transition notes, and that it doesn't quite click as bossa nova. Thanks for any input.

[​IMG]

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    That reads just fine to my eyes. The one thing I've found about playing bossas is that less is more... much more. If you have the pleasure of playing a bossa with a great guitarist who really knows his/her stuff, you can just play big, fat, puffy half notes, and it sounds fantastic.

3. awesome. this is my first attempt at writing seriously for anything bass. thanks for that awesome advice.

4. jazzbassnerd

jazzbassnerd

Aug 26, 2002
    Looks just fine.

One comment I would make is that the rhythmic pattern for the "transition notes" that you use is always the same. This becomes very predictable, which Mr. Johnson has already said can be a good thing on Bossas. To me, when I sing through your line the rhythm you have chosen sounds a little square. Maybe the same approach (transition) notes would be better suited in the dotted quarter, eighth groove?

Maybe not. Just some thoughts. Hope this made some sense and hope it helped.

5. Jeremy Allen

Jeremy Allen Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2002
    Bloomington, IN