1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bought a 3/4 Josef & Kurt Wilfer: Carved or Hybrid? please help

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Peder Waern, Jun 28, 2012.

1. Peder Waern

Peder Waern

Feb 17, 2009
    Sweden
    Hello,

Bought a new bass (3/4) today Label says Josef and Kurt Wilfer made in Germany 1975.

A bit embarrased I must admit I couldn't determine whether its a hybrid or fully carved. I'll attach some pics and maybe someone can give their opinion....

I believe the top and sides are carved but not sure about the back.
    thanks

Attached Files:

2. The grain running all the way around the top's edge says *carved* to me- I am NO expert though, and the pic is rather blurry.

3. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Commercial User

May 24, 2006
    Crescent Beach, BC
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver
    The top is solid for sure but we'd need a photo of the edge grain straight on to be sure about the back. Maybe just beside the saddle at the bottom?

Looks very nice! ;)

4. Peder Waern

Peder Waern

Feb 17, 2009
    Sweden
    Thanks guys..

Jake, not totally sure what you been by saddle, sorry. Is this helpful?

Attached Files:

5. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Indeed, the grain running around the edge of the top indicates that it is carved. As for the back, what Jake wants and what would be revealing is a straight on shot of the edge of the back. That is, the camera should be pointed in the plane such that the endpin is coming straight out at it. The "saddle" is the (typically ebony) piece of wood over which the tailpiece wire runs as it wraps around the top. In any case, looks like a nice find!

6. Peder Waern

Peder Waern

Feb 17, 2009
    Sweden
    Ahah, thanks for the clarification. I'll take a photo when I get home. This is exciting :)