Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Boutique Basses In The Real World

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by KayCee, Mar 6, 2006.

1. KayCee

KayCee

Oct 4, 2004
    Shawnee, KS
    I just returned from my Sunday gig, an "unplugged" affair on which I've been playing fretless bass for the past twelve years.
    It's a brewpub gig, with no stage, and the crowd is seated pretty close to the band. Fun gig, lots of solos.

Anyway, some drunks out dancing tonight reminded me of a disaster six months ago in which some drunk fell on the band, driving my mic stand in to the neck of my $4500 bass, and causing a nice ding. I spent eight hours with super glues and buffing compound to fix it.

At times like that I think that it doesn't pay to bring a really nice bass to a bar gig. Then, on second thought, what's the point of owning it if it sits at home?

So I'd like to ask those of you that own boutique basses, do you take them out regularly to gigs in bars? Do you use them only in concert or recording situations? Do they have a place in the "real world" of spilled beer, smokey rooms, and knucklehead drunks?

Interested to hear your experiences and attitudes.

2. Snarf

Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    New York, NY
    I would NEVER play a super expensive bass where there's the possibility of it getting seriously damaged. That's what MIM Fenders are for. Great basses and they look even better when they get their battle scars.

3. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    bars and cramped areas call for basses that you dont mind getting beat up if it happens.

save the expensive wood for nice gigs where there is an actual stage or a much calmer/sober setting. :)

4. Niskamies

Niskamies

Jan 13, 2004