Bow Effect On Electric Bass. Possible?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by mickeyw3340, Jan 12, 2006.

1. Is it possible with any type of electronic add on to get the effect of a bow on a double bass string with an electric bass? In other words, the note played is sustained at volume once it is played, until it is muted or the string is raised from the fret. I am a church bassist and we have a couple of items in our repertoire that scream for a "bow bass" effect. If such a device exists, we are not looking at having to "Sell The Farm" in order to purchase it. Thanks In Advance.
  2. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Have you checked out an eBow? That is what they do. I like to use a volume pedal with one because the volume tends to be a lot higher with the eBow, and it gives me another way to make volume swells.
  3. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Like Pete said, either the eBow or a vintage Gizmotron should do the trick, but you might have to sell a few cows.
  4. anechoic

Oct 31, 2005
    Shirley, MA
    Do used Gizmotrons ever turn up? I'd imagine something that rare would get pricey.

Anybody have good pictures of one of these things, or any sort of details on their construction? has a pdf of an interview with Godley and Creme from the 70's, but the pictures aren't great. I understand the priciple of how it works, but I'd rather not have to reinvent the wheel when it comes to materials and whatnot.
  5. lookjojoisplaid

Oct 17, 2005
    San Diego
    The line 6 delay mod has an auto volume setting that works well. Im getting the guyatone slow volume on friday in the mail ill let you know how that works out. also there is the boss slow gear pedal.

As far as ebows go i have never tried one but all i ever hear is how hard they are to use on bass because of the size of it.

Also a good reverb pedal makes you sound really resonent
  6. idoru

Dec 18, 2005
    Brisbane, Australia