Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bow Quality- Woods..hairs..pearl

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by basslax, Jan 11, 2001.

1. basslax

basslax

Apr 20, 2000
    Washington, DC
    i am just learning bowing on the upright and play with the school bow (low quality). when my teacher showed me his bow it was very high quality..wood as opposed to plastic..pearl instead of plastic (on the frog(i think thats what it is))and wire wrap, again, instead of plastic.
    does the wood or the kind of wrap really affect the sound that much? i dont want to sound like the ignorant drifter from BG but i think it is excessive paying half as much as your bass for a bow.

2. Does the wood affect the tone?

ABSOLUTELY!

The bow has almost as much to do with your tone as the bass. That's also why lots of people don't think twice about dropping a lot of money on a great bow. The other factor to consider is the response of the bow which can be greatly affected by both the particular piece of wood and, more importantly, the bow maker's skill.

It's true that the prices of good handmade bows are pretty inflated relative to the cost of materials and even the bow maker's time, but the bottom line is that a lot of players are willing to shell out big bucks for a bow that will deliver the tone and response they are looking for. Supply and demand.

I guess for the electric bass folks, consider this... if you have a great electric bass but you play it through a 10 watt piece of crap amplifier, your great bass won't seem so great anymore! The bow is as important as a great electric bass amplifier.