1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Bow Science

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Southcreake, Aug 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Southcreake

Southcreake

Jan 30, 2017
    I'm fairly new at double bass and bowing in particular. Everything I've read seems to say that wood bows sound better than carbon fibre. My partner's dog found my wooden bow too interesting to resist and I have had to get it repaired. In the meantime I decided to try one of the cheaper carbon fibre bows and I think I agree with what I've read about the sound. However, can anyone tell me why there should be this difference in sound? I can understand about the way a bow is balanced making a difference to ease of playing, and the quality of the hair affecting the tone, but the bow itself? What is the science behind this? Does anyone know what research has been done in this field?

Ron Mason, DC Bass and Michael Karn like this.
  2. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    There are a lot of contributors here who can give you accurate technical information, but I think the short answer is that wood is alive and organic, so that the vibrations from the strings pass through something is (on some level) also vibrating. The best carbon fiber bows try and "weave" the cf so that the vibrations do a similar passing. The cheap one are just sticks with hair that pull volume.

Fellows, correct me if I am wrong. See below

Fiddle Physics

"Bow Science & Exercises for Violin & Viola" by M Schottenbauer

DC Bass and Southcreake like this.
  3. A wood bow dampens high frequencies in a way that a synthetic bow does not.

suckmykiss and Southcreake like this.
  4. Selim

Selim Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2008