Bowing Gut Strings

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by William Hoffman, Oct 6, 2010.

1. the little insight there is on this topic seems to be scattered in bits and pieces all over TB. i have been bowing on steel strings for several years but also love the sound of guts. i generally stick to pizz with guts, but if i want to play guts on a gig, i have to be able to bow them as well. for me, getting guts to sound good under the bow is a real challenge. i hope there are a few of you out there who might have some tips on how to bow gut strings with a warm gut sound but minimizing the nasal scratch i invariably seem to get.

any advice is welcome, but the following topics occurred to me as starters:

• brand and type of rosin (soft, hard, etc)
    • amount of rosin
    • type of bow hair (black, white, salt & pepper)
    • bow hair tension
    • bowing pressure
    • bowing speed
    • location of bow on strings relative to FB and bridge
    • angle of bow hair relative to strings
    • type or brand of strings
    i am currently playing Gamut Pistoy varnished strings with white hair and Oak medium and soft rosin.

thanks!

2. Jason Sypher

Jason Sypher Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2001
    Brooklyn, NY
    It's entirely possible to get a scratchless sound on guts but technique becomes even more important than on steels. All the standard rules apply: nice flat hair bow stroke, bow perpendicular to the strings, etc. You have to develop a very light arm weight to not crunch the strings and squash the sound. You bowspeed will be a little faster on guts and you should use a minimum amount of rosin. Changes in bow direction should be almost "unweighted" to keep the string vibrating. Unnecessary weight will stop the string and create unwanted sounds. In my opinion you are using the best bowing strings on the market. I find the lighter guages more successful.

AGCurry likes this.
  3. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago