1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bowing Sweet Spot

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Seanto, Jan 29, 2017.

1. Seanto

Seanto

Dec 29, 2005
    USA
    Hello!

I've been playing bass for a few years now, but have not had any bow instruction. The frustration of bowing has been so much for me, that it is the one thing that is driving me to finally get a teacher, with whom i should start with in 6-8 weeks.

In the meantime i am having moderate success with my new brazilwood french bow, helicore hybrid strings(light), and pops rosin.

One newb question i have is about the spot on the string to bow on, between the bridge and fingerboard. Most recommendations say to start somewhere in the middle, between these two land marks. I am really having trouble getting a pleasing tone on open strings, especially on the E and A strings, when bowing here. Alternatively i am having much more success when bowing just under the fingerboard, likely due to decreased string tension since i am bowing farther up the string. While i tend to get a cleaner start to the note, i have observed that there may not be as much power/volume when bowing there.

Looking for general observations about bow placement on the string from those with more experience. Is the sweet spot different depending on the bass? Is bowing farther up the string acceptable? What am i missing?

2. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon