Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bowing through an amp

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by lermgalieu, Feb 17, 2003.

1. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    I have been playing my DB with my band for about 3 years now, and have what I consider a decent pizz sound through my amp. Its a inexpensive Glaesel bass with a K&K bassmaster pro through a Raven Labs MB-1 and a modified Carvin RC210 amp (I replaced the speakers with Eminence Kappas). Well, now that I have been playing with the bow a bit, I decided to whip the bow out in rehearsal. MAN it sounded like UTTER GARBAGE - very nasal and almost annoying - like when you bow a note and don't fully grip it (except i am gripping the note fine)

I know its not the best bass in the world, but I can make it sound real nice when playing acoustically. I tried turning off the amp's EQ and compression, but if anything it sounded worse. I have the tweeter on the amp off. I do have to say I am using mainly the 4 element pickup and not the wing pickup - will the wing sound a little better?

The other thing I might try is to go straight to the PA from the K&K power pack or from the Raven Labs unit. Has anyone been through this? Do I need to add a mic? Do I need to just 'live with it'? Or do I need to just not play bow through my amp?

2. Monte

Monte

Jan 9, 2001
    New Albany, MS
    Pickups on the bridge (Fishman, K & K Big twin, etc.) tend to be very harsh with a bow. Switching to PA rather than an amp may not solve the problem. Pickups on the body (Realist, Schertler Dyn-B, etc.) tend to be much better. In general, the further away from the strings the pickup is, the better it will be with the bow.