Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

"boxy" sound?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Pacman, Sep 26, 2002.

1. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    I'm a relative newbie to DB, although I've got a pretty good gig doing it.

I'm playing an Englehart M1 ply bass with a Realist or BassMax pickup, and lately I've noticed that the sound is sort of "boxy". I'm not sure of another way to describe it. No real richness to the sound. I've also noticed slight imperfections of the way the bridge meets the top of the bass (gaps of .5mm or so). Am I just getting a more critical ear, or does the bridge fit contribute to a less than perfect sound? How can I tell the difference. Should I stop listening to John Patitucci and Christian McBride? Should I shut up and color? Should I seek therapy?

An unrelated question: I was surfing the net and found a website that sells endpins for Arco and Pizz styles. Is this snake oil? Can one endpin style sound better for a style of playing?

Thanks for your patience.

2. Jeff Bollbach

Jeff Bollbach Jeff Bollbach Luthier, Inc.

Dec 12, 2001
    freeport, ny
    A gap of 5mm in the foot fit is definately not cool. It could have an impact on the tone. In addition, if the bridge is fit so poorly it suggests that there will likely be other areas where the setup is less than ideal.
    I know about those pins and I do believe it to be essence of viper.

3. It's a relative thing, but yes, bridge fit matters. Keep in that you can have bad contact even when you don't see gaps. That's why luthiers are worth the money.