1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

brand new bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by thumbzilla, Apr 29, 2006.

1. thumbzilla

thumbzilla

Apr 28, 2006
    Mentor, Ohio
    I have tried several searches, maybe my question is too bassic. I am new to basses and am buying a factory brand new instrument. I have read lots of threads on truss rod tension, various settings of this and that, but these seem to be for customizing modifications and problem solving. My question is can one trust the factory to ship an instrument that is correctly assembled and generically well set up? Does the dealer have a part in this? I mean, for example, is there a standard truss rod setting for a given bass and can one check/verify it before judging the "quality" of the instrument or its performance?

Thanks for your help.

2. DougD

DougD Bassman7654

Sep 19, 2002
    North Las Vegas NV
    No there is no stanard truss rod seting. It all depends on what the neck is made of, how the wood is cut, what kinds of wood is used, ect ect. The dealers of mass market basses usually set them up for medium action and most people need to make minor adjustments to the neck after buying a new bass in order to best suit their playing style and comfort. When you get the bass I would sugest that you take it to a shop and have it set up for you (if you dont like the way it feels that is) :) As for the assembly and such, you have just hit on the main reason why a lot of players dont buy basses sight unseen from the mass producers. sometimes the quality control is......iffy at best. Now if you are getting one of the high end basses like a Sadowsky,Smith, Fbass, Rosco, Lull ect (sorry is i left any out) then usually the quality control is excellent.

3. thumbzilla

thumbzilla

Apr 28, 2006
    Mentor, Ohio