Brand New Bassists?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Chillihead, Apr 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chillihead

Mar 31, 2004
    New Zealand
    Any other brand spanking beginner bassists here?
    I bought a bass guitar a little over a month ago, so I had an instrument I could learn at home (my instrument of choice prior to this is the drums).
    So far I've been teaching myself, with a combination of hundreds of tabs I've downloaded off the 'net, along with various instructional type pages I found. Oh and I got a video too with the bass.
    I'm really struggling with it, but enjoy it immensely. I haven't nailed any 1 song in it's entirety yet, but the closest I've come is Incubus' 'Wish You Were Here'.
    So, to the rest of you noobs, how long have you been playing, and where are you at? And perhaps the most important question: How are you learning - that is self taught or lessons?
  2. Hi there! I'm a noob as well (3rd month of bass, 2.5 years of classical guitar). I'm sort of taking lessons, my guitar teacher is a bassist too so if my mom can take me and my amp over there I get bass lessons, but that's mostly the theory, not real songs yet (just moving to chromatic scales). I'm counting on my teacher to teach me the techniques, slapping, tapping, that stuff. I practise songs on my own. So far, I've done a couple of AC/DC, 'Inside' by Stilskin, 'Walking on the moon' by the police, and I'm working on 'One of us' by joan osborne and '74-74' by the connells. is a nice thread for you.
  3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    This is more of an issue of General Instruction. The Technique forum is for... techniques...

Oh yeah, welcome to talkbass.
  4. Chillihead

Mar 31, 2004
    New Zealand
    Sorry SM, wasn't sure of the correct forum for this - kinda figured this was appropriate given that as a newbie I don't have any technique (yet)!