1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Branding yourself for classical guitar and suggested repertoire

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by oniman7, Mar 28, 2013.

1. In addition to my teaching I've decided to try reaching out to play some shows on classical guitar to increase my revenue fund a little bit. I'll be looking more towards restaurants and that sort of thing rather than concerts or even weddings until I'm more comfortable. I've been paying classical for about 3 years but didn't realize how much I enjoyed it until the past 6 months or so.

As such I'd like to know how you guys would go about branding yourself, finding venues to play at, etc. How much is reasonable to charge?

Also, what are some good songs? Right now the songs I have ready to gig are these:

Moorish Dance by Aaron Shearer
    Country Dance by Carulli (90%)
    Minuet in G Major by Bach
    Etude in E Minor by Dionisio Aguado
    Etude No. 7 by Carcassi
    Bach Cello Suite/Prelude in G Major

I'm working on: Menuett in A Minor by Johann Philipp Krieger
    Andantino by Mauro Giuliani
    Menuett in D Major by Robert de Visee
    Spanish Romance (Romanza)
    Greensleeves
    Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring by Bach
    Bouree in E Minor by Bach
    I've also tried Classical Gas but that one's pretty tough for me right now.

As you can see, largely relaxed music, a lot of Bach, and not necessarily all of the most profound technical pieces... just what I believe to be good music. I'd probably be providing more background music than riveting solo performances and that seems to reflect in my music choices.