break from lessons?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by dennison, Jun 4, 2004.

1. Hello I bought an upright and have been taking lessons learning the simandl. Every time I go to a lesson I bassicly just move to the next position (half, first, second, third) I just play for my teacher out of simandl and he has been telling me the same thing every time "keep it up and learn to love the bow". I am a poor college student who is barely squeaking by, and $40 a week really adds up on my miniscule budget. Does everyone think that my lack of teacher will hurt me in the long run? or has not having a teacher held you back? At what point do you say okay I have had enough lessons i know the basics, I have the motivation, simandl and a pile off jazz cd's, and I think I can continue without lessons?
  2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Man, rather than think "when can I quit my teacher" I would think "when can I find a new teacher".

The other thing, though, you may not be in a position to evaluate whether or not you HAVE a good teacher or not. Positional playing (and getting a good foundation in it) is not to be taken lightly. I didn't do it and here I am, some 15 years later, working my ass off to break bad habits and make good ones. Why not save the time and do it right the first time?

There is absolutley no reason that you can't do both, study with your teacher AND take **** off all your jazz records. As Don Higdon says, every classical lesson makes him a better jazz player.