1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Breakdown of practice?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Memphaustralian, Feb 27, 2008.

1. Hi y'all

I am a former pro drummer (still drumming semi-professionally). I am trying to be a bassist too and can probably put in about 1.5-4 hours a day on top of my 3 days of rehearsals a week on bass. :bassist:

1. What is y'all breakdown of non-gigging practice per day?

2. What would you guess would be good for me (I am into funk, hiphop, blues, rock, fusion, electronic music, jazz...well kinda everything).
    I want to get my skills up to where i can gig in any genre in real quick time (I have been playing about 6-9 months and know some basic theory and can play about 100 covers and play about 10 originals in my band.)

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

2. sal87

sal87

Dec 19, 2007
    Philadelphia, PA
    for general practice, i'm trying not to be too specific because everyone has their own style and own agenda during practice, i would do a quick warmup (some chromatic scales and major scales up and down the fretboard using all 4 four fingers at varying speeds) and listen to records picking out bass parts to develop my ear and to hear how different bassists play with drummers, should be easy for you since you've been on the other end for so long. focus on getting your playing together so that you can play with others well and you'll get far.

i just recommend listening to a lot of records and learning lots of songs...just learn to pick up stuff by ear, bass is everywhere, whether its parliament or thelonious monk or gwen stefani or slayer they've all got distinctive bass parts that will help you learn and learn to play different styles.

3. thanks for the input. that's really been what i have been up to so far. and i like where it has put me