Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Breaking Helicore Pizz A

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by HotPoop621, Oct 2, 2005.

1. Fellow Bass Players,
    I'm a young bass player. I've been playing double bass since about 2002. Before I owned my own bass I used my high school's carved bass with Spiros. When I got my own bass, they came with Helicore Pizz. I enjoyed the really bright tone when i was playing mostly jazz but obviously hated the scratchy bow tone. I've owned the bass for almost a year now and in college, i play just as much bow as i do pizz.

But there is one weird problem that I saw with the Helicore pizzicatos. In the one year I had them, i've gone through many A strings. Other strings have broken sometimes but the A breaks way too often. I had been playing with pretty high action but now have lowered it once I realized the strings were breaking too much.

I've even bought a new bridge with a thicker cut because i thought that maybe the cut was too sharp. It has cost me a lot of money and I ran this problem by the guy who sold me my bass and he said that his Helicore Pizz As have been breaking as well. I have switched to Obligatos now because the seem like a good Hybrid string

Has anybody else had this problem or noticed what is happening?

2. Adrian Cho

Adrian Cho Supporting Member

Sep 17, 2001
    Ottawa, Canada
    Are you sure the string is not getting caught either in the bridge or in the nut? Breaking strings definitely shouldn't happen that often.