Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Breaking Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by basspunk2005, Jun 15, 2005.

1. basspunk2005

basspunk2005

Jan 31, 2005
    England UK
    How often is it natural to break a string from re stringing the bass with standard amount of useage?

2. Time Divider

Time Divider Guest

Apr 7, 2005
    I've been playing my own bass since 1980, and I have never broken a string. I don't think anyone should (unless the string itself was somehow faulty, or if the bridge somehow had a burr in it). Other than that, if you break one, I'd think you're playing too hard.

3. basspunk2005

basspunk2005

Jan 31, 2005
    England UK
    I have broken quite a few strings over the past 4 years of my bass playing but I dont think this is down to my technique I think it is because I play hard because that the is the style that the band im in require, and if I play softer in that situation, for me it doesnt give it enough punch. Is there another way around not breaking strings?

4. How are you EQing? Punch lies in the mids...

5. Time Divider

Time Divider Guest

Apr 7, 2005
    A louder amp?

6. basspunk2005

basspunk2005

Jan 31, 2005
    England UK
    My amp handles the situation well I have a trace elliot ah3007 going through two trace elliot 4x10s, I dont use lots of eq mainly just in the mids and a lil in the treble for up top.

7. Well then you really should have no problems in the punch department. What/what type of bass are you using?

8. basspunk2005

basspunk2005

Jan 31, 2005
    England UK
    i mainly use my mike dirnt custom bass, my fender precision or my fender jazz all of which have a nice puncy sound. All I said was if i play softer I dont get as much punch as I would like. Therefore would have to eq more in therfor loosing volume when wanting to go loud(what i heard anyway)