1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

breaking strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Rugaar, Mar 21, 2009.

1. Rugaar

Rugaar

Apr 11, 2007
    wisconsin
    Last weekend I broke the E string on my Fender Classic 50's P and last night I broke the E on my Squier CV 50's P. Both strings broke at the same spot--the point where they break over the bridge. I was using Fender 9050ML on both and they were approx 6 months old. I play fairly aggressive country rock but nothing too wild. These are my 2 primary basses but it's not like I'm a gigging pro on the road 5 nights a week. Both basses have their stock bridges and I'll check for burrs before installing the new strings.

Am I just wearing the strings out and they're breaking? Do Fender strings have a tendency to break like this? I've got some D'Addario Chromes (.050-.105) ordered (thought I'd give them a shot since they get so many good reviews) but it looks like I need to order another set now. Maybe I'll order a couple extra E and A strings as backups, too.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks.

2. Coelho

Coelho

May 10, 2006
    Astoria, NY
    I really don't understand this. I've been playing for more than 20 years and I never had a string break on me. I've had blisters in my fingers, blood coming out, but the strings never break on me.

3. Flats don't like to bend, especially the larger gauge ones. I suggest having a look at your action adjustments, as they relate to your bridge and neck joint. If you need to have your bridge saddles adjusted quite high to get the action where you want it, this makes the strings bend quite sharply, increasing the chances of breakage. So, maybe there are shims in the neck pockets of your basses, this is very common. If you remove them, you will need to then lower your bridge saddles, decreasing the bend angle there, and that is key.