1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Breaking the pick habit

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Batz, Aug 22, 2012.

1. Batz

Batz

Aug 22, 2012
    Orange County, CA
    I've been playing bass in punk bands for about 15 years. I have always played with a pick. I took guitar when I was 14 and was drilled for months on alternate picking and I'm extremely fast and efficient at it. To the point that I can not play all downstrokes (frustrating!)

I've wanted to learn how to play with fingers but I get so annoyed that I can't play the easiest song. I get bored and stop. Any suggestions that will help me learn to play finger style while keeping my interest?

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

Well it sounds like you get frustrated and stop, not bored. Get out a metronome and just take it slowly, run some scales. Work yourself up to pace and focus.

3. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2007
    Pennsylvania
    I used a pick for over 20 years and I felt the same way...I would get frustrated and stop when I tried to play with my fingers. I just decided I wanted to do it and started playing everything I would normally with a pick, with my fingers. Now I play 95% of the time with my fingers, but still practice every now and again with the pick though! I love having fingers, thumb, and pick in my arsenal.

4. Russell L

Russell L

Mar 5, 2011
    Cayce, SC
    Just lay the pick down, like quitting smoking. When you get frustrated, just keep moving forward. You didn't learn to play with a pick in a day, nor will you learn with your fingers in a day. If you're getting frustrated, then you are getting in your own way.

5. downtap

downtap

Aug 19, 2012