Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Breakup Point on Tube Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by chaosMK, Sep 23, 2005.

1. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I am trying to troubleshoot some fuzz coming out of my Mesa Bass 400. I am kind of new to tube amps and tube distortion.

Basically I am at 7-8 preamp, 7-8 master and get fuzz on low notes. If I turn up the volume more, I get fuzz on more notes. Using a Mesa Powerhouse 4x10 cabinet, with an active bass (plugged into the channel suited for active basses).

Is this about the normal breakup point for tube amps? Does the breakup point occur earlier if the tubes are going?

If this is because I am driving the amp to the breakup point, how can I reduce this problem and still have high/clear output?

2. Sounds about right to me. Depending on the amp of course anything past about 5 or 6 on the volume knob and things start getting gritty.

3. thedoctor

thedoctor

Jun 20, 2005
    Try a fresh battery set in your axe. My EMGs get REAL cranky below about 7 volts. Someone needs to shoot that rabbit!

4. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    The battery is about a month old (and lasts about 6 months- year on my bass) and fuzz issues dont appear to be connected to the basses EQs.

5. Fealach

Fealach Guest

Apr 23, 2003
    Gone to a better place
    I don't have experience with that particular amp, BUT...

I know someone who had a 400, and remember him describing it as a big huge fuzz machine. It's been said part of the reason behind all the extra tubes in the 400+ was to get a cleaner sound at higher volumes. In the 400+ manual it states that the master should never go above 5 in normal use. Doesn't sound like a problem with the amp, different tubes might help, or might not.

6. Plain Old Me