1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Brian Wilson's Precision ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Oren Hudson, Apr 22, 2010.

1. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC
    I started playing bass at age 12 in 1964. Among early influences, The Ventures and The Beach Boys. Fell in love with Brian's white on white P-bass. So much so, that when I had saved up enough money, I wanted to get one just like his. I could only find the Oly white with the tort guard, so I bought it, an April 1966 model. In all of my years of playing and going to guitar shows, I've never seen another white on white P-bass, with the exception of some MIM's in the 90's. (That guard was actually off white.) My question is - did Brian have some special edition? Change the guard? Have a one of? Or what? His was probably early to mid 60's or so. Love the white with the tort, but also still in love with his white on white. What say yee? :cool:

2. well im sure u can find a white on white precision nowadays,or was white a custom colour back in the 60's?like black was

3. "The Fender Bass -- An Illustrated History" shows a Fender ad with the Beach Boys, including Bruce Johnston with Brian's P-bass. On the same page (27) is a reproduction of a chart of custom finishes available on Fender instruments of the day, and Olympic White is one of them.
    On page 29, there are two pictures of white-on-white 1960s P-basses alongside other custom-finished basses, so apparently they were available that way without after-market alteration.
    I love it, too. A truly classic look.
    Note, BTW, that Brian's bass had a tugbar and bridge cover, but he soon removed the pickup cover.

P.S. -- If you haven't already, check out Brian and the Boys on the newly reissued TAMI Show DVD. Great show.

4. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC