Brice is Nice!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by joeeg33, Sep 4, 2003.

1. OK all,
    I went to Rondo music yesterday and left with a Brice 5 string. Black Jazz bass style with the block inlays. Out the door for $225 including tax.
    A little bit about myself. I have been playing bass for 24 years, 19 of them as a vet on the NJ scene. I have owened every bass under the sun. My favorites have been, Smiths, and Spectors. I also repair instruments, so I am always anal when checking out new basses.
    So here goes. For the price that one could be had, I was baffeled at how they can do it. The maple used for the neck constuction was very nice. Fret work oustanding. All of the frets are seated, leveled, crowned, and polished without flaw. The finish is smooth and very well buffed. The bridge, tuning gears, P/Up's, are cheap, obviously this is where the cost is kept down. But all of the parts are mounted firmly, and seem solid enough to last, only time will tell.
    I did play a bunch of them at the store, there were a few dogs, but over all the consistancy was very good.
    I did play the Natural Ash one, it was a beaut, but damn HEAVEY, which is the reason I went with the Black Alder one.
    So what did I do to it when I got home. First dis assembled the whole thing, to get a real good look at everything. First, I dropped in a set of EMG's, you will need 2 bridge position P/U's, they are a bit longer than the neck position P/U. Standard controls, V,V,T. Cut the nut slots down a bit, they were to high out of the box. New set of D'addario strings, .045-.130. Intonated the bridge, it was way off out of the box, and it was ready. The EMG's made a huge differance. The bass plays and sounds amazing now. I was very impressed with the 'B' string, I think it sounds better than the 'B' on my Stingray 5.
    Conclusion, spend a little time tweaking, and you won't find a instrument at this price new that can compare.

2. Jon Burnet

Jon Burnet

Jan 21, 2001