Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bridge and neck pickup height?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by phxlbrmpf, May 5, 2005.

1. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    I'm pretty new to two-pickup basses and I was wondering: what is generally considered to be the "best" way to adjust your pickups?

Should the bridge and the neck PU have the same height, or should the bridge pickup be higher? I have a Status Energy with two soapbar humbuckers and I noticed that the sound becomes too boomy if the PUs are too high.

I like having both pickups on because I feel the sound I get this way fits best to most of our songs. The only drawback is a slight decrease in volume. Is there a way to counteract this by adjusting your pickup height accordingly? Thanks in advance.

2. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    FWIW:

the strings have more travel at the neck position so more clearance is required to keep them from hitting the pups. The neck pup will be darker and louder (and often boomie if too much volume is used) by virtue of it's location. Boom is usually the result of too much bass or too much neck pup or both. A higher frequency boxie tone can result from too much treble. Excessive mids can factor in either depending on settings. If you start out minimal with tone controls and work up - you'll learn what you need to do to get what you want through your rig.