Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bridge

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by MTBassist, May 13, 2002.

1. The bridge that came with my Fender jazz bass is already starting to fall apart, some pieces have already fell off, but still plays ok :)

But what do you all recommend on a new bridge? Are they all pretty much the same? or...are there some really good ones out there that you can purchase

thanks for any information you can give me.

:)

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    There are two bridges that I know of that are direct drop-ins, that is, all you have to do is unscrew the old bridge and screw in the new one.

The first is the Gotoh 201, which goes for around $20. This is what I put on my MIM Jazz bass, and I'm pretty happy with it.

The second is the BadAss II, which I have no experience with. It will probably cost twice as much as the Gotoh, and you have to file your own grooves in the saddles where the strings will sit. These drawbacks aside, there are a lot of players that swear by these bridges.

Don't expect a new bridge to radically alter your tone, but it could increase your sustaion. The main advantage I found of my new bridge is that the saddles are in grooves, which prevents horizontal movement.

3. Awesome, thanks super duck.

i will look into the gotoh 201 since that would probably be the easiest for me to switch out

im not expecting my new bridge to change my tone .. i just have to replace the one that i have .. and i dont want to end up with another cheap one

thanks so much for your advise!

4. Just for fun, tell us what parts have fallen off your Fender bridge so that it is still playable??

Every single thing on that bridge is absolutely necessary for proper intonation, tuning and setup. I suspect that if there is a part missing, your bass is nowhere near playable in the way it should be.