Broad Lakland question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by theagnesjar, May 29, 2005.

1. theagnesjar

Oct 11, 2004
    So I have a Lakland Skyline which I am in no rush to be rid of, however I feel that my current amp/cab set up does not do it justice. What kind of stuff do you guys recommend (amp or cab or both) that will give me a nice crisp rock sound but also support the low B's? I would appreciate any other advice besides names of products as well.

(btw i have a Yorkville Bassmaster xs800 and an Ampeg 610)

2. Rumzini

Feb 14, 2004
    Jackson, MI
    I've got a Lakland 55-01 and my Avatar 212 and 410 seem to be doing the trick. I have them set up on the seperate channels of my QSC right now...I'm able to dial in a lil more 212 or a lil more 410 as I see fit. Right now I'm into a more low mid mid rangey sound out of the 410 and keeping that ahead of the 212 right now.
  3. extreme

Mar 20, 2000
    The best sound I ever got with my Lakland 4-94 was when playing through an EBS Gorm 2x10 was a killer little amp and perfectly complemented the Lakland...really fat and warm with good definition.
  4. Masher88

Masher88 Believe in absurdities and you commit atrocities

May 7, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    An Ampeg 6x10" doesn't do well with a Low B string? That doesn't sound right. Those are usually pretty deep Maybe you are looking for more of a 15" or 18" depth?
  5. jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I have the opposite opinion. The SVT cabs fart out quite easy IMO.
    The 410Hlf is the only SVT cab that can take the lows somewhat goog. The 610 I tried farted at store volume. But I think I have a heavy attack.
    Try a good 1x15 cab with some tens to see what real lows are like. I reckomend Glockenklang if you are in Europe or Bergantino, Epifani, Euphonic Audio, Acme etc if you are in The USA.
    As always YMMV.
  6. theagnesjar

Oct 11, 2004