Broken wire inside my Corvette

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by CB3UK, Jan 26, 2018.

1. CB3UK

CB3UK

Jan 13, 2017
    Lexington, KY
    20180106_093734.jpg

Hopefully that photo pretty clearly illustrates my issue. The black wire on my tone control knob has somehow snapped. The other end, presumably, runs to the pickups. I'm an amateur at best with this stuff.....I do know residential electric enough to have installed and repaired most all of my appliances and fixtures.

I've tried wire nuts to reconnect the wires and all I got was monstrous feedback. Without the wires making a connection, I can play the bass, switch the active and passive on and off and roll up/down their volume, but the tone knob does nothing and the amount of overall volume I get is minimal.

Before I use this as an excuse to shell out $1500-2K to buy a MusicMan Stingray :D what am I missing. Please use the KISS rule if you have an idea....I am not adept in the world of ohms and watts and all that mess.

TIA

spaz21387 likes this.
  2. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

That's just the bridge ground wire. If you can't make it reach the pot to solder it back on, just put in a new wire. If you remove the bridge, you should be able to see where the other end of the wire is.
    Those two thicker wires, with all the multi-colored wires inside, are the pickup leads.

mcnach and CB3UK like this.
  3. Crater

Crater

Oct 12, 2011
    Dallas, TX area
    To me it appears that two black wires broke off the output jack. One is the bridge ground, the other is the "signal" ground. Both wires should be soldered to the second terminal on the output jack...it doesn't appear that any wire is soldered to it in your photo.

4. Killed_by_Death

Ha, I completely missed that, and yeah, need to solder both those wires back onto the output jack.

Reedt2000, Crater and CB3UK like this.
  5. CB3UK

CB3UK

Jan 13, 2017
    Lexington, KY