Broken Wrist

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Thomas Stone, Jan 3, 2006.

1. Hello all

I broke my left (i'm right handed) wrist 4 weeks ago (fracture of the scaphoid bone) and have at least another two weeks in plaster.

Has anyone out there got any tips on rehabilitating my hand once out of plaster. I know i'll have to work very very slowly and not be tempted to just carry on from where i left off , which will be hard as i'm so impatient.
    I'll pretty much be starting from scratch again as i'm a novice anyway.

My teacher will no doubt be rubbing his hands at the prospect of lots more lessons.

If anyone has recovered from a similar injury and was taught some good exercises i'd be grateful if they could pass them on

2. Peter Ferretti

Peter Ferretti Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2005
    Oooh, Thats my worst nightmare come true. Stay strong brother. My friend who broke his wrist was fine in the long run, but he did, like you said, have a lot of extra lessons. Just work at it slowly, and pray for the best.
  3. I broke my thumb over the summer and due to where it is I have 6 months til it's done. I can play though now, but not where I was before. My advice. Go to physical therapy. Spend some of the time you have that you would be practicing and do ear training, and listening intensely to whatever kind of music you like. Good Luck. ASG
  4. Loel

Loel Blazin' Acadian Supporting Member

Oct 31, 2004
    I'm not a DB player but i can identify with the strains of suffering a broken wrist;I play electric and fractured my right wrist twice,it WILL come back,but you'll need a lot of patience,
    the only suggestion i can give, is slowly and consistently

5. christ andronis

christ andronis

Nov 14, 2001