Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bubinga or Swamp Ash?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Techmonkey, Jun 29, 2005.

1. Techmonkey

Techmonkey

Sep 4, 2004
    Wales, UK
    Well I'm building a bass that I'll probably use for plectrum and fingerstyle use more than slap.

Must be versatile, very versatile, as I'm using Schaller Double J pickups with different wiring combos.

I'm using a grizzly bridge for it, and it's 4 string

I've never built a bass before, but I've got two years to make this one, and access to all the powerful workshop machinery I could want.

1: Should I use bubinga or swamp ash? The body blanks are roughly the same price. I'd love something with growl, that I could hit the E-string with and make it brown your trousers!

2: Are the Mighty Mite necks any good? I was thinking about getting a P-bass style neck with maple fretboard?

3: For a 34" scale length bass, does that mean it's 34" from the nut to the ball end of the string?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for all the newbie questions, I'll learn someday!!

2. One thing to consider is that bubinga is most likely going to be quite a bit heavier than the ash. I also find that it is considerably harder to work compared with ash.

3. Okay, here we go!!!

Bubinga vs. Swamp Ash...

Bubinga is a heavier wood than ash. Therefore you'll achieve a lower tone. Now, for an example of Bubinga bodied basses, look at Warwick. (www.warwickbass.com) They use alot of Bubinga on Corvettes and I believe some Thumbs too. Now, Warwick DID use swamp ash for the 2004(?) Corvette FNA Ltd. Looks beautiful with the Koa top. I say bubinga will allow you to achieve a better growl... but, I can make the exact same argument as above favoring swamp ash, and using Tobias and MTD basses an examples... preference really. keep in mind, Bubinga is heavy!!!