budget slapping bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by funkpunker, Nov 12, 2002.

1. hi, i am well into playing slap bass, im not that good at the moment, but am improving slowly! part of my problem is my bass. i have a £550 ibanez SR705, which is a five string, but part of their attributes is a narrow fret board, which causes me no end of hassle as i keep screwing up my fingers by scrapping along the G when plucking the D. i am seriously looking for a new one, but have a very limited budget, i have an old bass that i could sell which would generate £300 tops, and thats all i have. i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a decent bass that i could buy for slapping within that kinda budget. im not bothered by names, but it needs to be pretty good build cos i tend to bash them up alot! i have seen a lot about the new OLP musicman copy, and was wondering if anyone had tried/bought one and could tell me if they are ok, or any alternatives would be greatly received. Thanks.
  2. vanselus

Sep 20, 2000
    Boulder, CO
    I played a Peavey G-bass a while back (graphite w/ one p/u) and it was amazing for the money. I thought it was a great cheap slapper...
  3. thats a very nice bass, i think i have tried one out before, but unfortunately, its abit out of my price range, im aiming for £300 ($500ish) if i wanted a quick buy, or £500 ($800ish) if i saved up, which i am not good at!! so if anyone can helo, let me know!
  4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

If you are looking for a 5 string, the OLP has narrow spacing, like your Soundgear.

A great, low priced slapper is the MTD Kingston 5. But it may be a little out of your price range, around $500 US.
  5. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I don't think you could go wrong with an MIM jazz 5. They are reasonably priced, but I don't know what they go for in England.

6. vanselus

Sep 20, 2000
    Boulder, CO