Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Building a cab - am I a idiot?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Zoot, Nov 25, 2004.

1. Zoot

Zoot

Sep 4, 2004
    Howdy y'all.

A 2x10 Eden or SWR cab over here in the UK is around £600.

You can buy 2 eminence drivers for about £100.

Whats peoples veiws on making your own 2x10 cab?? With Basic maths and woodworking skills, surely you can make yourself a decent cab for use gigging for a fifth of the cost of the named ones??

Am I being a novice here? Is there something I am missing as to why people don't make thier own cabs?? Do they sound rubbish without putting in all the designing work that the Big names do??? Surely you could just copy thier designs and chuck in a couple of cheaper Eminence speakers???

Please tell me?

Cheers y'all.

2. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    Well, let me tell ya...

There are alot of people who think it's a waste of time and energy.

But there are also alot of people who do just that. I'm one of them. Do a search for "Cabinet building 101". There are guys on here that will be of great help...mainly BGavin, who will give you the low down on your speakers and anything else you need to know. He's got the most amazing spreadsheet...a collection of more info than anyone could ever need.

Check out my SMS Harvey combo thread. I did exactly what your thinking of doing. It's not that hard to do. This isn't rocket science, but getting a good understanding about speakers and cabinet design, porting, tuning, etc. BEFORE you start, will be a great help.

Good luck...and it is really easier than some will lead you to believe. ;)

3. THCbass

THCbass

Sep 19, 2003
    Quebec-Canada
    Hey , that's why I builded mine last Year and ...yes , they sound
    terrific!.... did a single 15'' with a Legend CB15 from Eminence