Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Building a cabinet....

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Hi_Im_Mark, May 26, 2003.

1. Hi_Im_Mark

Hi_Im_Mark

Mar 9, 2003
    Hey...I'm new to the whole Bass Guitar scene and I'm currently in the market for a bigger and better amp. I was browsing through various speaker cabinets and enclosures and realized that it doesn't seem too difficult to build a large cabinet. I have an extensive background in building enclosures, but only for car audio systems. Ie. Subwoofers and such.
    I was just curious to find out what type of speakers are generally used in Bass cabinets?
    Not really brand names, but more specifically speaker specifications.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx,
    -=Mark=-

2. ESP-LTD

ESP-LTD

Sep 9, 2001
    Idaho
    Use the Search feature on this board for a lot of good info. "Cabinet Building 101" was an excellent and long thread.

Generally, most of the commercial offerings use cloth accordian surround woofers in ported enclosures, tuned to 30-60hz. I would expect to find Qts between .25 and .4 and Xmax of 4-6mm or so, with a driver sensitivity of 94-99db. Most of them have big magnet structures and voice coils of 2.5" to 4" and power ratings of 200-800w RMS.

Eminence owns a lot of this market and makes drivers OEM for lots of companies, but there are plenty of other players out there.

3. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Looking at speaker cabs in the shops, the carpentry is easy to spot. The science behind it isn't. There are ways to work out the correct box size and porting, but you need to know the Thielle/Small paramaters of the speaker you're planning to use.

What sort of cab were you thinking about building? How many strings does your bass have?

4. Hi_Im_Mark

Hi_Im_Mark

Mar 9, 2003